skip to Main Content

Teambuild 2017

The 27th annual Teambuild competition (held over the weekend of 18-19 November at the Lane End Conference Centre, High Wycombe) showcased the communication and collaboration skills of outstanding young construction professionals, representing a wide range of industry professions.

As usual, the Worshipful Company of Constructors was a major contributor.

Eight multidisciplinary teams demonstrated their ability to work together to overcome challenges based on the development of a project from masterplan through design to completion in stages over the finals weekend.  Edinburgh University kindly provided the basis for the competition questions, the Grade A-listed McEwan Hall in Edinburgh.

Teambuild 2017 challenged teams to plan, design and present hypothetical proposals based around the McEwan Hall Refurbishment and the Bristo Square and Potterow Development.  The University of Edinburgh and Interserve Construction Ltd were generous enough to provide the teams with real site information to form the basis of their hypothetical scenarios, giving an added sense of realism to the proceedings

The winning team, InSite, were awarded a cash prize of £2,000, sponsored by the Worshipful Company of Constructors, and presented by the Master, Tony Ward. They were commended for their professionalism, enthusiasm and team working skills. The team comprises six young professionals from BDP and Mace.  The members of the winning team are: Aidan Kelly (IMechE, BDP); Georgia Blood (APM, BDP); Matthew Trueman (ICE, BDP); James Mangat (RICS, Mace); Robyn Poulson (RIBA, BDP) and Lilly Sanderson (ICE, BDP).

The Procurement Strategy Prize of £1,500, awarded by the Worshipful Company of Chartered Architects, was presented by Master Stephen Wagstaffe to Meitheal, a team from Hawkins\Brown, Skelly & Couch Ltd, Sweco, Hoare Lea, Reiach and Hall Architects and Gardiner & Theobald LLP.

The Judges Prize of £1,250 is discretionary and this year was awarded to the runners-up, Constellation, comprised of members from Mott MacDonald, Sinclair Johnston & Partners, ISG and Peregrine Bryant Architecture.

An individual prize for Leadership was awarded this year by the LCCI Commercial Education Trust, who have supported Teambuild for five years. The prize of £500 was awarded to Hugh Counsell, an architect from Hawkins\Brown.

The performance of competitors was evaluated by nine senior Industry figures, representing a wide range of disciplines. This year the panel included Stephen Wagstaffe (Master of the Worshipful Company of Chartered Architects), Tony Ward (Master of the Worshipful Company of Constructors), Patricia Bessey (PM Worshipful Company of Constructors), and Dr Anne McCann (Westminster City Council).

The photographs show the Master, Tony Ward and PM Patricia Bessey, both judges at Teambuild 2017.

Back To Top