skip to Main Content

Governance and Trustees


The Worshipful Company of Constructors’ Charitable Trust is registered as a Charity in England and Wales (No 274573). The principal operating address of the Charity is Foxhills’, Elvetham Road. Fleet, Hampshire, GU51 4QW.

The Charity was formed in October 1988 as a requirement of the City for the Company of Constructors (then known as the Company of Builders) to gain Livery status. The minimum capital of £100,000 was required before Livery status could be granted.

The Charity is unincorporated and governed by a Charity Commission Scheme dated 31st July 2002 which replaced the former Trusts of the Charity.

The charity’s objects, as set out in the Trust scheme, are:

  1. to advance education, training and research in the construction industry (which shall include in particular, but not exclusively, building, civil engineering, architecture, surveying, engineering services and facilities management and procurement) in particular by awarding certificates, diplomas and other distinctions and establishing and maintaining scholarships, grants and awards to individuals;
  2. the relief of persons in need, hardship or distress who are members of the Company or their dependants. The Trustees may relieve persons in need by making grants of money to them or providing or paying for goods, services or facilities for them or making grants of money to other persons or bodies who provide goods, services or facilities to those in need.
  3. for other charitable purposes as the trustees may from time to time decide.

The Charity is managed by Trustees. The Scheme requires that there should be not fewer than four and not more than six Trustees.

Our Trust Scheme is available to download.


Meet the Trustees

Dr Paul Shepherd CBE DL – Chairman

Paul is a Chartered Engineer with 45 years’ experience in the construction industry eventually as CEO of an international construction, manufacturing and engineering group. He is a Past Chairman of the Construction Confederation and Past President of the Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB).

Doug Barrat – Deputy Chairman

Doug has 50 years in experience in the construction industry and is now Chairman of the Herefordshire Investment Partnership. He is a Fellow of the CIOB and is a Past Master of the Company.

Michael Ankers OBE – Secretary and Trustee

Michael started the early part of his career in the civil service before leaving in the late 1980s to become Director at CIOB. After a spell as Chief Executive of the Brick Development Association, he became CEO of the Construction Products Association, retiring in 2012.

Dr Deborah Pullen MBE – Treasurer

Deborah is a materials engineer by profession, working in the construction, defence and humanitarian industries. She is a Chartered Engineer and a Fellow of the Institute of Materials.

Bob Heathfield

Bob has over 50 years’ experience in the construction industry holding senior Main Board Directorships in major international organisations. He is a Past President and Fellow of the CIOB.

Victoria Russell

Victoria is a construction lawyer specialising in all forms of dispute resolution, and is a qualified arbitrator, adjudicator and mediator. She is a Past Master of the Constructors and of the Arbitrators, and is a former Chair of the Livery Committee.

Back To Top